Something throbs and gleams

It has been two years since I first visited Dubai and took the opportunity to see the desert. It was an enchanting, other-world experience, and I felt very much “in the zone” as a photographer. I will never forget the words of Antoine de Saint Exupéry that instilled in me a conviction to go there in the first place. Now I’ve been twice–one week ago here; two years ago here. And now I understand.

I have always loved the desert. One sits down on a desert sand dune, sees nothing, hears nothing. Yet through the silence something throbs, and gleams…
– Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (Wind, Sand, Stars [Terre des hommes])

IMG_7673e

Click on the photo to see the other photos in the original post (March 2013).

Leave a Reply

